This time around Ananathapuri will witness a different poll battle. This is the battle field where cast and religion take center stage .

The main candidates of UDF and LDF are at the mercy of three famous faces that are there in the contest. They are capable of giving twists and turns to this most interesting fight in the capital.


Thiruvananthapuram Parliament constituency consists of Kazhakoottam, Vattiyoorkavu, Thiruvananthapuram, Nemom, Parasala, Kovalam and  Neyyattinkara assembly constituencies.



§  1984: A. Charles, Indian National Congress

§  1989: A. Charles, Indian National Congress

§  1991: A. Charles, Indian National Congress

§  1996: K.V. Surendran, Communist Party of India

§  1998: K. Karunakaran, Indian National Congress

§  1999: V.S. Sivakumar, Indian National Congress

§  2004: P.K. Vasudevan Nair, Communist Party of India

§  2007: Pannyan Raveendran, Communist Party of India


 P Ramachandran Nair of CPI  is the LDF candidate.  Nair is not known much out of the constituency but he is confident that the voters in Thiruvananthapuram will treat him like the man next door. Though Thiruvananthapuram is a seat of the CPI, the party leaders do not think that they can get any advantage of it.


Ramachandran Nair is standing against the charismatic Shashi Tharoor. Many voters welcome this move as the best decision in the right direction. Sasi Tharoor is a representative of the global malayalee. He was born in London studied in UL and Delhi joined civil service went up to the level of completing for the post of UN General Secretary he came back to his home state and today he is all set to represent the capital of his state in the 15th Loksabha.


There are two  people who are standing against Sasi Tharoor and his victory they are


1. Neela Lohithadasan Nadar :   This former Janata Dal leader has joined BSP and now his hopes lie on the consolidation of Nadar votes, which his supporters believe will be able to do wonders.


2. P.K Kridhnadas : When O.Rajagopal did not agree to jump into the middle of the heated battle field, it was the turn of  BJP state president this time. He is confident of securing the hard-line hindu votes in the constituency.

 The role of these candidates is very vital in the upcoming election. It may deny a much deserved victory for the  very talented Shashi Tharoor.

But withdrawel of Vijayan Thomas from the battle field has given Tharoor a definite edge.  Chairman of Jai Hind TV ( Malayalam Television channel of Congress) who was expecting the congress seat had earlier decided to contest the polls aiming at the christian votes. Inner sources started whispering that Vijayan Thomas too may go to Delhi but as a Rajya Sabha member in thenear future.




  1. BJP might win this constituency

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s