ATTINGAL is a newly formed constituency which came in place of Chirayankeezhu after the delimitation.  It consists of Varkala, Attingal, Chirayankizhu, Nedumangad, Vamanapuram,Aruvikkara &, Kattakkada assembly segments. The geographical graph of the constituency is almost similar to that of Chirayankeezhu.


§  1984: Thalekunnil BasheerIndian National Congress

§  1989: Thalekunnil BasheerIndian National Congress

§  1991: Susheela GopalanCommunist Party of India (Marxist)

§  1996: A. SampathCommunist Party of India (Marxist)

§  1998: Varkala RadhakrishnanCommunist Party of India (Marxist)

§  1999: Varkala RadhakrishnanCommunist Party of India (Marxist)

§  2004: Varkala RadhakrishnanCommunist Party of India (Marxist)


It is considered as a strong bastion of CPI(M). Varkala Radhakrishan was representing the constituency for well over 10 years. This time CPIM has brought back a much younger candidate to retain the seat for them. He was the sitting MP from 1996 to 98


In Attingal, the fielding of an Ezhava candidate by the Congress is seen as a ploy to get into the vote bank of the CPM. But the it is still doubtful whether that ploy of Prof Balachandran will be able to overcome the influence of Sampath in the area.

Though there is a wind of negative sentiments blowing all across kerala against the ruling coalition, the CPIM cadres are counting this as one of their sure seats in the upcoming polls.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s